Sweating The Small Things: The Narrative’s in the Details

Here’s something I did last night: spent three hours looking for spurs and collar tips on the Internet.

I want some spurs like this. But with black leather boot straps.

"Cowboys wear them so will you." Indeed.

Even though I’ve always been particular about how I’ve dressed myself, it wasn’t until college that I started to obsess about accessorizing. Part of it is a growing appreciation for craftsmanship, and part of it is that the aesthete in me gets deep pleasure from tiny details like pearl buttons and selvedge stitching. Also, it’s very satisfying to walk out the door in the morning and know that you’re happy with every last element of your outfit, from your underthings to your jewelry to your shoes.

Also, I am totally a collector. I have twelve bolo ties (and counting,) ranging from a simple black zipper to a bedazzled pink stone that looks like part of a Dolly Parton costume. I own six wide-brimmed felt hats. My closet floor is a sea of ankle boots in different heights, textures, and colors. I have a very specific vision of how I want to look, and I acquire according to that vision. Right now, I want to look like the girl from True Grit grew up and started wearing All Saints and Rick Owens.

This.

Plus this (All Saints Spitalfields.)

And this (Rick Owens.)

Of course, once I’ve achieved the basics of this vision, I start to refine it. And that’s what finds me awake at one o’clock in the morning, reading the shipping policies on tack shop websites.

Thomas’ post about becoming who you want through clothing had a much deeper and poignant purpose, but I completely related to the sentiment. Building yourself visually, constructing yourself through clothing–it prepares you to enter the world as your best self. Or at least the best of the self you want yourself to be.

And yes, sometimes people tell me I’m being crazy when I talk about having a vision of what I want to look like. But I’m a writer, and I work best through stories, and I have a narrative for my wardrobe. And honestly, it makes it easier to decide if I really want to buy something, because I can think, “Does this fit my vision?” So often, it doesn’t. Problem solved.

About Sloane Martin

Sloane Martin is a writer, reader, collage-maker and used clothing store worker in San Francisco. She collects wide-brimmed hats, ankle boots, leather jackets and bolo ties. Lately she's been going for an urban cowgirl kind of thing, but less costume-y than what you're picturing. She gets really excited about good breakfast foods, Japanese whisky, and making lists (she's a Libra, obviously.) Sloane was once told that the children's book Eloise explained a lot about her, and she doesn't disagree. 

One comment

  1. Damn, Sloane! Rick Owens + All Saints + Mattie Ross = breathtaking genius.

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

