Cooking in Heels With Ceyenne Doroshow

Exactly how I imagined myself for approximately 2.5 seconds.

Sometimes you wake up with the best of intentions. You wake up and you think, “Gosh. In between doing a million other things — between coffee and leaving for my day job, or at lunch between the 4 projects I’m juggling, or before I drive an hour to go to a fun magazine launch after working all day, between SOMETHING — I’m going to write a really in-depth post that explores some never before discovered intersection of fashion and culture.” You may have surmised that the universal “you” in this pseudo-hypothetical scenario refers to the very localized ME.

As it turns out, sometimes you wake up and want to explore fashion and culture, but unfortunately awoke in the middle of a REM cycle, which completely wrecks your pre-work writing ability. And then you get to work and there are minor disasters, so you eat at your desk. And as it turns out, there’s no time between work and driving an hour to Boston. WHY ARE YOU SO DIFFICULT, THE WEEK OF APRIL 9th??

Luckily for me, Ceyenne Doroshow‘s project popped up in my Facebook news feed courtesy of former IBC blogger, Matthew Lawrence!

IBC has a pretty strict policy about not directly promoting events, products, etc. unless we’re somehow involved, which we almost never are because we’re not a blog wherein a teen or other person posts pictures of him/herself in clothes that aren’t interesting, flattering, or discussion-worthy. However! I am going to make a personal exception in the case of Cooking in Heels, the cookbook that Ceyenne Doroshow is trying to raise funding for through Kickstarter.

First off, it’s called COOKING. IN. HEELS. And Ceyenne is for real cooking in heels, because she’s fancy, and I like that because I was raised in the South and Ceyenne’s dedication to cooking while all dressed up reminds me of an aunt I have. Secondly, it’s a cook book that serves as a memoir, which is just an incredible idea in its own right. Thirdly, beyond the fact that she’s fancy, and making my favorite types of food, the book’s goal is particularly support-worthy. So while I get my brain to turn on, watch Ceyenne talk about what she’s doing and why. You won’t be able to resist.

Next week I’ll hopefully have my brain and time returned to me so that I can bring you another reader closet quandary. Maybe one day I’ll write that post about some deep, unexplored cross section of fashion and culture.

About Michael von Braithwaite

Does it look like I'd wear it on a boat, at an eccentric person's estate or accompanied by a peacock on a chain? Yeah, I'll probably buy that.

2 comments

  1. This post made me happy, but what sent me over the moon was your (IBC’s) inclusion of a clip of Ceyenne Doroshow’s Kickstarter project. She’s my new heroine. Thank you for introducing her to your readership at IBC! Hooray for Ms. Doroshow!

  2. Michael von Braithwaite

    Isn’t she the best?? Glad to be of service!

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

