Alexander McQueen Ruined Me For Everything Else

You guys, I’m having a terrible time coming up with anything I want to write about since seeing Savage Beauty this weekend. I’m serious. That exhibit was like wandering through a wondrous fashion/art/multi-media/fantasy dream come true and I don’t care about anything else. I don’t care about my clothes or your clothes or my family or food or work or anything. I just want to spend the rest of my life in slack-jawed awe in front of these balsa wood wings:

droooooolll

I want to spend all of my time considering femininity and power and how the two can intertwine and result in poetic tragedy. I want to think about the way light can filter through carved eyelets and play delicately against the body. I tried to see the rest of the Met after seeing Savage Beauty and found myself so underwhelmed with all the other famous art, I left feeling irritated with  museums for being so blah when they clearly have the ability to exhibit in ways that are literally breathtaking.  Yeah, Pollock. Way to paint. Who gives a shit.

Anyway, I’m supposed to tell you about something, right? I’m fashion blogging, correct? Savage Beauty made me reconsider everything I thought I knew or wanted to know about fashion and art.

I do want these weird shoes, though:

They’re Topsiders, meets Crocs. They’re Native Shoes. You can go anywhere in them. Specifically, you can go from the city to the beach or into a rain storm in them. And they’re insanely comfy. They’re also kind of ugly in a charming way. Like many cars from the 70s. Such as the Gremlin.

They also make these weird all-terrain winter boots that I will be getting:

I realize that this is probably the least articulate post I’ve ever written. You can blame the late Mr. McQueen. My mind has been blown. Favorite overheard quote from a viewer: “Ugh. I can’t wear belts anymore.” So I wasn’t the only one affected.

Next week I’ll be back with words that I can use.

About Michael von Braithwaite

Does it look like I'd wear it on a boat, at an eccentric person's estate or accompanied by a peacock on a chain? Yeah, I'll probably buy that.

3 comments

  1. Amal Joury

    i couldn’t talk for hours after leaving that exhibit. i then wished i had the black parachute silk cape swirling out behind me dramatically. and the leather hoop dress!!!!!

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

