Red White and YOU!

Dear readers in the United States. Today, as you all know because you’re all no doubt at bbqs, is the 4th of July. On this date in 1776, our country declared its independence from Great Britain, who now has comprehensive healthcare and access to a college education for all of its citizens. BUT, do they have bbqs? Probably, but I really couldn’t say.

Since moving to a place with real summer, I’ve become very interested in eating outside in a variety of scenarios. As such, I’ve become very interested in the fashion choices that people make when going to bbqs, specifically. I’ve seen some pretty sweet ensembles that get put together for a backyard soiree. It’s its own fashion genre. One not widely or professionally documented. I’d like to change that.

What I’m hoping is that you, readers, will accept my challenge and document yourself and your friends’  bbq outfits today (or next weekend, if you’re drunk and not reading this right now) and send them to me (my email is on my profile). I’ll feature your totally awesome, totally weird, or totally America-themed outfits on next week’s blog.

To get you going, here’s some inspiration:

This is simultaneously tacky and awesome, just like AMERICA

This hippie scholar child knows what's up

Classin' it up with some editorial style. It's conceptual, man

The 4th is always a production. You know who does "production" with a capital "P?" Drag queens.

Capital 'P!"

That's right. Do it just once.

The most badass bbq ever--on the deck of a fucking SUBMARINE! Navy short shorts.

TN bbq, 1960s represent! So proper. p.s. check out Ms. "my shoes match my dress" in the foreground.

Is baby drunk, too?

"Gays in white tuxes during a nuclear holocaust" is always an inspirational theme for a bbq!

I don't have anything witty to say. I just love this photo.

Now. Send me yours. This only works if you actually do it. Otherwise next week’s post will just be me blathering on about this or that. Get your stylez on here!

About Michael von Braithwaite

Does it look like I'd wear it on a boat, at an eccentric person's estate or accompanied by a peacock on a chain? Yeah, I'll probably buy that.

2 comments

  1. Here we go, this is about as color themed as I could get without feeling too much like a port flavored cheese ball rolled in crushed nuts.

    /Users/michellemorby/Desktop/redwhiteandme.jpg

    • Michael von Braithwaite

      Awesome! I think part of your link is missing, though. I can’t get to the image. Can you resend?

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

