Little Bit Country

Hey ya’ll, I’m in Kentucky! The big, muddy Ohio River is right outside my window, ferrying these weird barges just heaped with coal, a chain of them being shoved along by something that looks just a step or two up from a tugboat. There’s a big paddle boat parked at the shore and the shore is actually a massive freeway, so it’s not that romantic, but then it is, because rivers are always romantic. I was thinking about Loretta Lynn, who’s home in Butcher Hollow we were supposed to visit yesterday but the drive from Richmond to Louisville proved to be too long and the route took us smack through tornado warnings and thunderstorms and we all learned that if we did in fact get whopped by a tornado we would have to pull the van over and all of us would have to lie face down in a ditch. Sounds messy! Really glad that didn’t happen. Anyway, this post will be about Loretta and all the other stylish country ladies this state has birthed. Let’s start with that picture right there up above. It is hard to wear a big floofy baby blue ball gown that brings to mind proms and Lawrence Welk, and still look lovely and dignified. Right? And she’s totally doing it. I admire this greatly. I have been increasingly avoiding floofy, super-feminine pieces as I get older in fear that I will look like Baby Jane Hudson, but Ms. Lynn’s excellent stance and the froth of that skirt and the little lattice on the bodice has called bull shit on that.

Here is the lady in her youth, just transporting a pot full of jams and jellies or maybe pickled whatever, you know, just something homemade and country, and looking so handsome with her bold, pretty face and her hair that looks half fixed half mussed and a sweet dress.

Coal Miner’s Daughter is a movie about Loretta Lynn’s life that came out in 1980 starring Sissy Spacek, who I am bound to do a whole blog about at some point because she is so excellent and her name is Sissy. Here is Sissy as Loretta in a perfect long white dress that I would like to purchase today and then go have a picnic on the banks of the Ohio. Oh look, the sun just came out!

Curls!

Psychedelic country ruffles!

Oh darn it, my computer’s dying and I left my cord in the van! This will be quick! Here’s Skeeter Davis, another Kentucky songstress of yore. That is a super cute dress. Teeny musical instruments always make good accessories.My swiftly expiring computer will not allow me to bring you another poster of Skeeter in a psychedelic country dress (country + 70s = so groovy!) with a matching umbrella! As someone who has been living in the rain for the past month, and who is also prone to losing umbrellas, the thought of having umbrellas customized to match all my outfits is amazing! Okay, this post is missing the wealth of Crystal Gale photos I gathered, all with her ankle-length hair sort of softly backlit and looking like a lacy shawl to go with her flowy ankle-length country dresses. Magical! I would have signed off with a montage of actress Annie Potts, another Kentucky girl, in the various costumes of Iona from Pretty in Pink. You’ve got your Google homework, now go search!

 

About Michelle Tea

I chanted "I am a fashion magnet" in the shower and subsequently found a Gianni Versace - era Versace skirt at Buffalo Exchange for $17. Once I got a beyond-my-means Fendi purse for free and sat staring at it, crying. Also cried at Olivier Theyskens' last show for Nina Ricci in Paris. Other things that make me cry: a good lip synch; my emotions. I have stolen two Jeremy Scott swag items from two Jeremy Scott events I was not quite invited to. Sometimes I want to age into Patti Smith, sometimes Baby Jane Hudson. I frequently dream I am in a magic thrift store where I can have whatever I want. I regret not buying the Alexander Wang purse when it was half price at Barney's. Like a delusional guy at a strip club, I feel special when the people who work at Barney's remember me. Having a Leo rising gives me big hair and a need for attention. My favorite designers right now are Alexander Wang, Philip Lim, Proenza Schouler, Vivienne Westwood, Viktor Rolf, Rick Owens, Rodarte, Helmut Lang and Surface to Air. I was once shamed by an employee of a high-end department store for pronouncing 'Rodarte' incorrectly.

2 comments

  1. Katelyn

    Loretta Lynn is one of the most kick-ass women to ever grace the Earth. Combine her with Jack White and they will save the planet. Thanks for writing about a woman who makes such great music!

  2. Pingback: A Little Bit More Country « Ironing Board Collective

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

