Blackandyelloblackandyellowblackandyellowblackandyellow

Hey sports fan! I am not actually a real sports fan. But when the Steelers are in the Superbowl, everyone raised within a sixty mile radius joins a massive mindmeld of intense hometown pride. So, in honor of Pittsburgh’s upcoming win this Sunday–and in the spirit of ex-pats everywhere–I thought I’d profile our new prince: Mr. Wiz Kahlifa.

 

Before I go too far, folks, I’d like to say: don’t try this at home. This kid is crazy stylish but his skinny-stoner-street-skate look is best reserved for–well–him. Unless you’re a wildly tattooed, massively handsome youth of color with mad swagger, a penchant for fitted leather jackets and squinty eyes, leave this look to a professional.

 

So you can’t talk about this guy without his song, which is guaranteed to be stuck in your head and features Terrible Towels, the smokestacks of Homewood, the bridge-filled landscape, and a few joyous, dorky looking white people. It also features Wiz Kahlifa himself, looking excellent in every single costume change (except I can’t get behind knee-high white athletic socks but otherwise I’m with him):

 

 

I love his little sneaky stoner face! He also cleans up nice:

 

Honey Magazine Photo Shoot: Looking like a million bucks

 

I love the fitted look for this photo shoot. I am a huge fan of tattoos + anything unexpected. He’s channeling a JT kind of thing, and I’m into it. I’d love to see this guy rock a Prada tux.

 

Slim leather jacket + fitted shirt = 100% awesome

 

He’s obviously styled here. On his own terms, he’s more geared toward this rad dweeby skater look:

 

Skate Nerd

 

I love his glasses! And his custom Pirates bling. Has Pittsburgh every been represented more hardcore? No.

 

Wiz recently recorded a remix of his signature song with the granddaddy stoner, Mister Snoop Dogg. I think Snoop has been a bit of an inspiration for young Wiz:

 

Snoop Style

 

That’s fine. Snoop is an inspiration to us all. But I like Wiz’s look best when it’s a trim mash up between sleek downtown and big flash, like so:

 

Plaid Shirt

 

Whichever way you slice it, Pittsburgh’s got one of the best looking, most stylish, smart/bad-asses around, singing our anthem:

 

Big Sky Prince

 

Anyway, I leave you with a little pre-weekend Wiz remix of Black and Yellow, Steelers style. It’s a love letter to Pittsburgh, straight up:

 

 

 

About Thomas Page McBee

Gentleman first, always. James Dean is my patron saint, poet is my gender. More about me here: www.thomaspagemcbee.com

3 comments

  1. blevit

    He’s cuuuuuute.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Blackandyelloblackandyellowblackandyellowblackandyellow « Ironing Board Collective -- Topsy.com

  3. michaelvonbraithwaite

    So you know that Lil Wayne did a version for Green Bay, right? Greenandyellowgreenandyellowgreenandyellow. “I’m a cheese head…. Pittsburgh Steelers? Dat’s nuthin.”

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

