Winter Boot Economics

If you haven’t noticed, boots are everywhere this winter which is awesome because they’re so handy. I love style that is functional, graceful and powerful.

 

Speaking of, even though I think war is wrong I am a big fan of military-inspired fashion. I understand that this makes me complicated but hey coming up against your own contradictions is what makes life interesting.

Yeah, that’ s deep. Anyway, look no further than New York Fashion week to find the utilitarian elegance that characterizes a military-inspired look:

 

Yigal Azrouël

 

And the boots have gone military, too. If you have a million dollars you can buy these from Band of Outsiders. And if I see you in them I will cry and beg you for them:

 

Band of Outsiders

 

And in case you can’t visualize an amazing result:

 

Band of Outsiders

 

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

What’s so great about all the buttons and clasps and brown/greens is that they’re classic. As you may know from my black t-shirt experiment, I have been interested lately in style that stays relevant over the flash-pan of fads. I think that there’s a way to dress well and maintain a sense of self in the face of the schizophrenic whims of Paris and Milan and New York.

 

Not that I’m throwing out my fashion magazines and starting a revolution. I’m just experimenting with a little understatement, a little quiet cool.

So with this in mind, I have begun scouring army/navy stores for boots that are affordable and beautiful. I just bought these Canadian combat boots from Uncle Sam’s Army Navy Outfitters.

 

Canadian combat boots

 

I know that “Canadian combat boots” sound like a paradox but whatever. Either way, the boots were $38! Thanks, Canada.  (Speaking of, I actually don’t know anyone who can pull off US combat boots post-nineties. That’s one look I can’t see coming back. Or I don’t want to see coming back).

 

Or maybe you want to buy these FUCKING RAD rainboots for $24 from armynavyshop.com:

 

Rubber Knee Boots

 

And, as per usual, the Europeans have somehow extended their predilection for smart, stylish design to combat:

 

Dutch Army Boots

 

These boots are used by reenactors of some WWII shit which is totally weird but they cost $65! Find them here.

 

The great thing about military clothing is that it’s available and affordable. Just remember that it’s all about subtlety. Don’t get it twisted and wear a trench coat + combat boots + a backpack, etc. Then you’ll look industrial goth and nobody needs that walk down Marilyn Manson memory lane.

About Thomas Page McBee

Gentleman first, always. James Dean is my patron saint, poet is my gender. More about me here: www.thomaspagemcbee.com

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

