Boot/Lovers

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

Welcome to our WordPress blog! Soon we will have a fancy logo and an exciting announcement so stay tuned but for right now I want to talk about BOOTS. ‘Tis the season and I couldn’t be more excited.

Queers have a longstanding love affair with boots–hiking, combat, motorcycle, et. al.–often to not-so-great effect. This makes me really sad.  However, times they are a-changing. Rugged boots are all over the place and, frankly, they look wicked gay and really gorgeous and I couldn’t be more jazzed. Take the boots pictured here, for example.  Aren’t they awesome? They’re available at Barney’s right this instant.

Timberland has partnered with Rag & Bone to create some amazing looks, on display here at Rag & Bone in NYC:

From highsnobiety.com

For a closer look, check out these babies:

From highsnobiety.com

On the collaboration front, I love the elegance of this Rockport x Barbour look:

From highsnobiety.com

And I know we all keep talking about it but I wasn’t convinced until I saw  Michelle’s snapshot of these Opening Ceremony x Pendleton boots in real life at OC’s LA store. They’re so excellent. I’d rock these hard:

From highsnobiety.com

Last night I went to see my friend Cubby’s brilliant band, Lovers and was so impressed with her $20 thrift store boots that I snapped a picture as they were breaking down after their set:

Cubby Berk's $20 Boots

If you are not already familiar with Lovers, you should go here now, listen to a song from their latest album, “Dark Light,” and then you should buy their album. Seriously.

But I digress. Cubby’s shoes were so awesome, as was her bandmate Kerby’s fashion sweatsuit get-up. I tried and failed to capture Kerby’s success with her fitted sweatsuit outfit but this should give you a vague idea of how it is somehow possible to pull this off without looking like a frat boy at the airport:

Kerby Ferris in Sweats

Anyway, point is: change is in the air! The leaves are turning, even in season-less NorCal. I’m so excited to throw on my brand new Topman Grandad jumper:

and a hat like this from Rag & Bone:

and complete the look with some sweet boots (hint: CHRISTMAS PRESENT PLEASE), like a queer Nordic fisherman or New England sea captain. Tally-ho!

About Thomas Page McBee

Gentleman first, always. James Dean is my patron saint, poet is my gender. More about me here: www.thomaspagemcbee.com

5 comments

  1. Ekingan

    Page, I cannot believe there is no photo of MY BOOTS in your post! They are in my opinion just about the hottest boots I’ve ever seen and the only shoes i brought on tour. I have suffered for them and nearly have a bunion. Perhaps they were not visible behind the kick drum?

    • pagemcbee

      Oh man! You were hidden behind the drums. I’ll catch them on the flipside. I respect your commitment to your boots and I salute you.

      • Tara

        I witnessed Emily’s boots and the physical sacrifice she was making…truly impressive and entirely in the name of fashion!

  2. michaelvonbraithwaite

    Rag & Bone is doing some of the BEST stuff this year. I love them.

  3. kerby is the hottest lover of all time. she makes me sweat when she’s caught in her sweats.

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

