Dear Junya Watanabe: A Love Letter


Dear Sir:
FUCKING A! Are you reading my mind or what?!
You have envisioned, in your 2011 collection, the EXACT LOOK I have been aspiring toward–on my best days–for the last couple of years. Bad-ass-but-tailored-boat-club-regatta. No dorky stuff–all wide stripes and white pants, for the gentleman of leisure who probably has awesome tattoos.
Did you make this hat for me? I think you did.
Mostly I have aspired for this look in the hopes that the actual life of leisure would follow, with little luck (though I did charter a sailboat for my life partner, Ms. Michael von Braithwaite for her 28th birthday, a gallant affair that almost ended in a capsized ship but DID NOT involve anyone spilling their champagne, against all odds).
Your clothes, in that sense, are a bittersweet reminder that if my life of leisure were truly in motion I would be able to afford the grand I need to buy your nautical sweater or whatever. But I forgive you the reminder because you made THIS JACKET:
In addition to the amazing things you are doing with boat shoes, blazers and TOGGLE COATS, I also want to commend you for your choice in Monsieur Mustache as a model. This man, perhaps due to his redheaded-ness, somehow looks awesome and not like a total douche with this sailor handlebar. Or perhaps it’s the white pants/fat stripes/exposed ankle situation. Anyway, this looks like the kind of guy I would drink martinis with at the yacht club after a long day drinking martinis on the yacht.
Your long history of geniusly updating classic looks makes me all the more convinced that I would be way better off buying all my clothes in Japan. You do American cool way better than any stateside-born designer I can think of. I mean, look at this guy:
The shoes: brilliant. I wish you would write a memo to all the dumb dumbs wearing Chucks with their ill-fitting department store suits. This is how it’s DONE.
Look, the point is: thank you. I sincerely hope that I reach a point where a white designer toggle coat makes sense in my life plan. Thanks to you, I have one more reason to keep the dream alive.
In solidarity,
Thomas Page McBee

About Thomas Page McBee

Gentleman first, always. James Dean is my patron saint, poet is my gender. More about me here: www.thomaspagemcbee.com

IBC LOVES your brain, and we encourage thoughtful, lively discussion. We will, however, moderate comments that are abusive or disrespectful. Stay classy!

